Delaware.gov logo

Division of
Human Relations



Age (Covered Under State Law Only)




It is illegal to discriminate against someone based on his or her age.  Age is a protected category under the Delaware Fair Housing Act for individuals who are any age 18 years or older. If you are denied an opportunity to rent, buy, finance or insure or a home or apartment—or given false information about housing—because of your age, you are a victim of illegal housing discrimination. It is also illegal for landlords or other housing providers to treat current residents or tenants, or their guests, unfavorably because of their age.

Minors (children under the age of 18) are not protected (minors are protected under familial status) and the protections do not extend to residency in state or federally-aided housing for the elderly, or to housing intended for persons 55 years of age and over, or to housing for individuals age 62 or over.

 

Examples & Warning Signs of Age Discrimination:

  • Refusing to rent to someone with good references and income because of their age.
  • Advertising statements like, “dynamic community for young adults,” or “quiet environment for mature adults” that indicate a preference for people of a certain age group.
  • “Steering” applicants to less desirable units or buildings in an apartment development on the basis of their age.
  • More restrictive income, credit, or rental history requirements for some applicants on the basis of their age than for others.

 

If you believe you were discriminated against because of your age, file a complaint here.

Related Topics:  , ,


+